Fear in Times of Upheaval

My visit to California is almost over at this time of earthquakes, tsunamis, and radioactive fallout.  My heart has deepened in the knowing of the power these events hold, to affect the lives of my beloved friends who live here.  Having prepared for this time of great upheaval, but accustomed to witnessing the devastation of distant lands, it is now finally hitting closer to home.

Fear is a funny thing – it can creep up on us or hit us like a wildfire raging out of control.  I have watched my friends and their varied reactions to the potential repercussions of the recent disasters. Some are packing and leaving California, some are stocking up on iodine and kelp, some are adamant they will stay, some are preparing earthquake kits, and some have given very little thought that they could be impacted at all.  I have watched within myself a creeping fear that can grow and subside like the tides or consume me like a tidal wave as I say my goodbyes to loved ones. I am witnessing how fear is contagious – the capacity we have to affect each other in our fear.  Today, I was told by a friend that I was “committing suicide” by staying here in California for two more days.  His sentiments hit me in the pit of my stomach; I sensed a shrinking in my heart as my body began spinning like a top off-center – this is what fear does.

The emotions we carry are intricately connected within the web of life.  I can feel inside my energy body when serious global events happen.  For instance with the Japanese tsunami, Egyptian revolution, and the Haiti Earthquake – I felt a definite shift in my energy field even before I knew consciously what was happening.  Our emotional power is further evidenced by satellites that were able to measure significant fluctuations in the Earth’s electro-magnetic field right at the moment the towers were hit on September 11th.  We are made of energy and our emotional selves have influence.

But how do we sit with our fears and face our rapidly changing planet? The insecurities we face are unprecedented: the magnetic poles are shifting, massive earthquakes are dramatically increasing in frequency, the arctic is melting, and our ecosystems are rapidly changing. As I was thinking of all of this on a walk today in the Berkeley hills, I became acutely aware of many overlaying realities. One, I have a part of me that deeply experiences grief, pain, anger, and fear.  Two, I have a pure still center where I feel fully alive.  Three, nature is beautiful perfection that supports me in finding myself and my connection to everything. There it is – the complete unpolluted truth of my whole self.  When I resource my full self in this way, I am centered, focused, and experiencing my complete capacity for aliveness.  And when I am solely identified with my fearful self, I become my own mini nuclear power plant in meltdown – radiating panic to the collective that we are all a part of.

One of the things I believe we are here to do as we journey through our lives is to help each other grow in our humanity and capacity to be better bearers of love in this world. When fear takes hold of us, it is a moment we are being called upon to engage our imagination in more positive creative ways.  All of life needs us now to stand as one collective – breathing, meditating, dancing, singing, praying, creating, visioning… Vision us now working together outside our national boundaries.  Vision our global community coming together to create a better world.  Do not invest your light in fear of a world that is changing – our world needs changing!  Allow, surrender, let go, find hope and peace within – like compost that nourishes planted seeds and flowers into abundant gardens.  We choose in each moment to create heaven on earth.  The authority we have – our true influence – is our mastery over this choice.

Anne, who is in Japan now, experiencing devastation all around her, reveals her own mastery.  “Living fully on the level of instinct, of intuition, of caring, of what is needed for survival, not just of me, but of the entire group. Other unexpected touches of beauty are first, the silence at night. No cars. And the heavens at night are scattered with stars. I usually can see about two, but now the whole sky is filled. Somehow at this time I realize from direct experience that there is indeed an enormous Cosmic evolutionary step that is occurring all over the world right at this moment. And somehow as I experience the events happening now in Japan, I can feel my heart opening very wide. My brother asked me if I felt so small because of all that is happening. I don’t. Rather, I feel as part of something happening that much larger than myself. This wave of birthing (worldwide) is hard, and yet magnificent.”

Anne has not chosen fear, she has allowed herself to be broken open and therefore to experience magnificence. We are receiving this mirror from literally all parts of our globe: the Egyptians, Tunisians, Jordanians, Wisconsinites, Libyans, and now the Japanese. Do you see the strong spirit of these people?  Do you see the strong spirit of the land? We can draw upon this courage because it is officially no longer a secret – we are made of exactly the same substance!!!  The truth is out, the revolution has begun, and we can no longer hide from our capacity for magnificence. Choose to summon it from inside you – your light to share with the world. As we journey through this time of The Great Unraveling, The Great Turning, we unearth the truth within us – that we are BOTH wounded and unbreakable. And just like the trees of a forest whose roots descend downward into the force of gravity to establish strength, we too connect ourselves to the unseen forces and surrender towards our collective illuminated grace. As creative and adaptable beings, we may not survive to see our visions fully lived but we are here to bear witness to the dismantling of the old and laying the groundwork for the new garden – it may not be bearing fruit as we leave this earth, but it is germinating none the less – if only in our own hearts.

8 Responses to “Fear in Times of Upheaval”

  1. Cindy Greb Says:

    Very beautiful and very important.
    Thank you.

  2. Seamus Says:

    Thank you Diane, for this wise reminder. I love your image for what happens when we give over our focus solely to our “fight or flight” instinctive fears: we go radioactive, cease healthy functioning, undergo an internal nuclear meltdown. What a great image for a panic attack. I think of Yoda now in extending this wisdom regarding “the runaway train” of our our fears: “Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to the dark side of the force.” Apparently a previous earthquake in Tokyo in 1923 led to martial law, and a kind of Shinto reactive fundamentalism, feeding Japan’s aggressive projections outward on the world in the form of Empire and militarism. How do we avoid this kind of “wrong turn” in our spiritualism during this times? This is what I hope to explore with you Diane, and with fellow deep ecologist and eco-therapist Lisa Franseen, on Beaver Island in Lake Michigan this coming Labor day weekend in September. During that retreat entitled “Changing Planet, Changing Times”, we’ll explore the wisdom of what it means for each of us “to become holograms” of the essential wholeness, the holiness that always remains in a Universe larger than any individual crisis we encounter. If I may share a contact with your readers who may be interested, find our more about “Changing Planet, Changing Times” by visiting http://www.CelticBodyPrayers.com. Seamus

  3. Sarah Says:

    Thank you, Diane. Having watched a piece on the global earthquake ring lastnight, and seeing clearly that all the signs are there for us to be next, I found myself seizing with fear lastnight. I waver between panic and denial with the threat of radiation. I go through scenarios of what ifs – and find it next to impossible to reconcile the images of sickness and destruction with the peace of our home today. Mama & her calves in the pasture. Chicks growing by the day. Syd the cat lounging. Flowers abundant. My children happy & healthy. We have long known that change is coming. Our family has been taking steps to support ourselves & our community in the face of that change. Yet I sit in fear at this moment in time. Thank you for words of vision & love.
    – Sazza, Vancouver Island

  4. Abigail Says:

    Beautiful Diane! I love the last sentence especially. I think about Anne in Japan, and recognize once again that it is “what if’s” that my brain does the most with. For the people living in the heart of it, the “what if” is happening now. You can respond from a space of being present with what is, as opposed to fearing what could happen. And that is my practice, always, and now. Presence. Experiencing “What Is” as opposed to fearing “What If?”. Love you sister.

  5. Marie Trout Says:

    Dear Diane,
    Your voice is powerful indeed. A beautiful reminder that we are not fear, we can feel fear. It is all about how we manage our perceptions – how we realize the other parts of us that allow us to act, to be creative, to find hope.
    Here’s to translating our underlying fear into conscious action. Here’s to bravely facing each new day with open eyes, heart and minds learning to appreciate the moment for what it is and what it has to teach us. I believe this is a way to help our world in its birthing pains. When we reach out of ourselves and our own ‘meltdowns’ we connect ourselves to a place where we translate fear into service – desperation into hope.
    Marie

  6. Lin Marie Says:

    Thank you, Diane, so beautifully expressed. It is an amazing time and we are being given the opportunity to practice our compassion in action. Hugs to you on your journey. elemdeevee, Sonoma

  7. Marilyn Latta Says:

    This touches my heart greatly and soothes me at a time when I feel so sad and raw. Thank you Diane, and all of you commenting, it’s like water for my exhausted spirit in this time of sorrow and hope. Strength comes out in the strangest times, and I am humbled by our beautiful global community and how it vibrationally pulls together towards healing.
    Marilyn

  8. Lindsay Wood Says:

    Poignant powerful peaceful message…thank you!

Leave a Reply

